Overlooking the Firth of Forth on the east coast of Fife is the ancient fishing village of Crail. Just 10 miles south-east of St Andrews, Crail is a great spot to visit when you are staying in the area. The quaint little village is filled with charming cobbled streets and independent local businesses offering all kinds of wonderful products.
Crail also features a miniature harbour which is surrounded by cute, historic fishing cottages and sheltered by cliffs. The whole area is incredibly picturesque and is a real must-see when visiting St Andrews.
Things To Do In Crail
Although Crail’s eastern location gives it a well secluded and quiet feel, the area has plenty to offer for a day out:
Crail Museum and Heritage Centre
This cosy museum lets you explore the diverse displays on Crail’s military, golfing and seafaring history. It provides an insight into the previous life of Crail and how it became the stunning fishing village it is today. The museum is only open during the summer months and is entirely free to enter.
Run by a local family from Fife, Crail Pottery was established in 1965 and creates a unique range of hand-thrown and decorated items. All the beautiful pottery is set out around a beautiful courtyard in the heart of Crail and features terracotta planters, stoneware and brightly painted earthenware.
Crail Balcomie Links
One of Scotland’s finest golfing treasures, the old Balcomie Links is set in an exposed corner on the most easterly point of Fife. It was founded by The Crail Golfing Society in 1786, making it one of the oldest golf clubs in existence.
The Colourful History Of Crail
The settlement of Crail dates right back to the 800s, and in the 1100s it was a thriving centre made famous for its ‘Crail Capons’, a delicious type of smoked haddock. At one stage, Crail was home to the largest medieval marketplace in Europe, and in 1178 the village was awarded royal burgh status.
There are many historic features to see while visiting Crail, such as St Mary’s Church which dates back to the 12th century and features a Pictish slab from the 8th century. The Tolbooth and its Dutch Bell date from the 16th century, the Market Cross is from the 17th century, and the Town Hall was built in 1814.